clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

But is it Gluten-Free?

glubeer1.jpg

WWeek takes a look at the changing definition of "gluten-free" beer, as an upcoming government ruling might make Widmer Brewing's Omission beer unable to call itself "gluten-free." Per the article, the beer is brewed using traditional (glutenous) ingredients, and "are then deglutenized enzymatically." The new ruling would anything made with a glutenous ingredient ineligible for the "gluten-free" label, regardless of the deglutenized process. [WW]

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Eater Portland newsletter

The freshest news from the local food world